09.03.2008 14:18

1964: The club is founded on December 3, the result of a merger between Brøndbyvester IF, ranked number 6 in Serie 1, and Brøndbyøster IF, ranked number 11. Thus, relegated to Serie 4.

1965: Brøndby IF finishes fourth in Serie 1. The same year, Brøndby Stadium opens, though, without stands.

1966: Brøndby IF once again finishes fourth in Serie 1.

1967: Brøndby wins Serie 1 and is promoted to Zealand Serie.

1968: The first season in Zealand Serie ends with a ninth place.

1969: Brøndby IF finishes just over the relegation line. The club is divided into separate sports.

1970: Brøndby Mayor, Kjeld Rasmussen, is elected chairman of Brøndby IF.

1971: Brøndby IF wins Zealand Serie and is promoted to Denmark Serie.

1972: Per Bjerregaard ends his active career and takes over the job as chairman. The first season yields a seventh place.

1973: Finn Laudrup becomes 'playing coach' and the team finishes third.

1974: Brøndby IF wins Denmark Serie with 39 points in 22 matches and a score of 81-30. The club's prime ambition is reached: Brøndby IF has made it to Division 3.

1975: The Danish Football Association changes tournament structure: From three divisions each consisting of 12 clubs to three divisions of 16 teams with one national Division 3. Brøndby IF achieves a place as number six.

1976: Brøndby IF finishes ninth in Division 3.

1977: Brøndby IF is promoted to Division 2.

1978: The first season in Division 2 gives Brøndby IF a placement as number 11. The first stand is opened at Brøndby Stadium.

1979: Brøndby IF finishes fifth. The reserve team is promoted to Zealand Serie.

1980: Brøndby IF finishes as runners-up in Division 2.

1981: October 25 - with three rounds of the tournament left - Brøndby defeats AB 6-2 with an attendance of 2,869 spectators at Gladsaxe Idrætspark and is thus promoted to 1. division. The same year Brøndby IF's reserve team wins Zealand Serie.

1982: Brøndby IF makes its debut in Division 1 on March 28 with a victory of 7-1 over B1909 at Brøndby Stadium. The following Sunday, Brøndby IF is defeated by AGF 1-0. Michael Laudrup becomes the first Brøndby player to join the international team and is elected player of the year in Denmark. Per Bjerregaard becomes 'Sports Leader' of the year. The club finishes fourth.

1983: Brøndby IF takes part in the UEFA TOTO Cup for first time and ends up third. In Division 1 the club once again achieves a fourth place.

1984: Brøndby IF wins its first title by defeating AGF 1-0 in the Carlsberg Cup. For the third season in a row, the club finishes fourth, while the reserve team wins Denmark Serie.

1985: Brøndby IF becomes the youngest club to win the Danish Championship.

1986: Brøndby hires full-time professional players - as the first club in Denmark. Brøndby IF wins the TOTO Cup without defeat and makes its debut in Champions Cup and reaches the quarter finals. In Division 1, the club wins silver medals.

1987: Once again Brøndby IF wins the Danish Championship. Having beaten the defending UEFA Cup champions, FC Porto, the club disappointingly loses to Sportul Bucharest.

1988: Ebbe Skovdahl returns as manager. The third national championship is secured; however, the club loses its first FA Cup final to AGF. An aggregated defeat to Club Brugge from Belgium means an exit from the European tournament.

1989: The FA Cup is won for the first time. In the European Cup tournament, however, Brøndby IF only makes it to the first round.

1990: Morten Olsen is hired as manager. The fourth championship is won. Brøndby IF defeats Torpedo Moscow in the UEFA Cup quarter finals.

1991: Brøndby IF becomes Danish Champions for the fifth time, but is defeated by AS Roma in the UEFA Cup semi-finals.

1992: Brøndby IF buys InterBank, but the investment fails and threatens the existence of the club. Worst result ever - the team finishes seventh - with no chance of participation in the UEFA tournaments.

1993: The team lives up to expectations and receives bronze medals and makes it to European football. Brøndby Support - the club's official fan club - is established.

1994: For the second time, Brøndby IF wins the FA Cup and celebrates its 30-year anniversary.

1995: Silver medals in the national tournament. Success in the UEFA Cup: the team defeats Liverpool FC. Brøndby Support now has 4,000 members.

1996: Sixth National Championship and 10,000 members in Brøndby Support.

1997: For the seventh time the club wins gold medals. Brøndby IF is once again, financially, the strongest club in Denmark.

1998: Hattrick! For the third year in a row Brøndby IF wins the Danish Championship. The FA Cup is also won. Brøndby IF makes its debut in the UEFA Champions League with a 2-1 victory over Bayern Munich but doesn't make it to the second group round.

1999: Silver medals. The reconstruction of Brøndby Stadium begins.

2000: Silver medals. The new stadium is opened October 22 with more than 28,000 people attending the match.

2001: Runners up. After a close race, Brøndby IF is defeated by F.C. Copenhagen with one round remaining, and thus loses the gold.

2002: Brøndby IF wins its ninth Championship title after a close race with defending champions F.C. Copenhagen. The UEFA Super Cup trophy is won later that summer. In the Champions League qualifications, Brøndby takes on Norwegian Rosenborg but fails to qualify. In the UEFA Cup, Levski Sofia prevents Brøndby from further advancement.

2003: In Michael Laudrup's first season as manager, Brøndby IF celebrates its fourth victory in the Danish FA Cup final by defeating FC Midjylland 3-0, and achieves silver in the championship race. Brøndby participates in the UEFA Cup and reaches a total of 100 matches in the European Cup tournaments.

2004: Brøndby plays FC Barcelona in the UEFA Cup. End as runners up in the Danish Championship.

2005: Brøndby IF wins 'The Double' for the second time, thereby celebrating the club's 10th championship and the club's fifth Danish FA Cup victory.

2006: Runners up in Super League and knocked out in the semi-finals in Danish FA Cup. Defeated by Ajax Amsterdam in the third qualification round to Champions League, Brøndby later qualifies for the group stages of the UEFA Cup. Rebuilding of the east stand begins. After four years as manager, Michael Laudrup chooses not to renew his contract.
Note: All years are based on a season.